Main Menu
AUGUST 19, 2017



Rugby Canada Communications

CALGARY – The Prairie Wolf Pack earned the Canadian Rugby Championship (CRC) bronze medal with a 41-19 win over the Atlantic Rock in the third-place match Saturday at Calgary Rugby Park.

After holding just a five-point lead, 12-7, at halftime, the second half was all Wolf Pack as they outscored the Rock 29-12 en route to a convincing 22-point win. The victory was the first for the Prairie team in this year’s competition, but sees the hometown team capture third place just days after a loss to the very same Rock side.

The Wolf Pack had five different try-scorers, with Carl Pocock leading the way with a pair of second-half tallies, while Mozac Samson, Jake Bentley, Lucas Albornoz and Jeremy Kyne each touched down once.

Graham Barry, Jack McCarthy and Liam Carter put up tries for the Rock.

“It’s been a rough tournament for us, but I think the boys really answered the call today,” said Wolf Pack captain Kyle Gilmour, who was the Man of the Match. “I am really proud of everyone who played a part in the win. It was a real squad effort today. At halftime, we had a chat about not letting off the gas because that’s something we did on Wednesday when we played them and we came out and played attacking rugby to start the second half and went from there.”

In the second half, Samson sparked the Wolf Pack’s surge, scoring his team’s third try of the afternoon to help the Prairie boys to a 12-point edge through 50 minutes. Ten minutes later, Samson then sent Kyne in for a try with a nifty offload that all but sealed the contest in the Wolf Pack’s favour.

Veteran fullback Pocock tallied the Wolf Pack’s final two tries of the match, crossing the line in the 63rd and 78th minutes.

The Rock added pair of late tries, with Jack touching down in the 74th minute and Carter scoring just before the full-time whistle.  

After 25 scoreless minutes to start the contest, Bentley finally opened the scoring.  Less than five minutes late, Albornoz tallied to extend the Wolf Pack’s lead to 12-0.

In the 33rd minute, the Rock struck back with Barry scoring to make it a five-point game at the break.

Both team’s finished the CRC with a 1-3 record. Earlier in the week, the Rock beat the Wolf Pack 33-29.

“We have never finished last in the competition, so it wasn’t something we were going to accept lightly,” Gilmour said. “We knew the Rock were going to be a tough challenge, but it’s always good to finish on top.”

The Wolf Pack and Rock have each won the CRC once, with Atlantic side winning in 2010 and the Prairie outfit taking the title in 2015.

Canadian Rugby Championship Schedule
July 14 – BC Bears 43 Prairie Wolf Pack 0
July 22 – Ontario Blues 24 Atlantic Rock 17
August 13 – Ontario Blues 45 Prairie Wolf Pack 22
August 13 – BC Bears 20 Atlantic Rock 13
August 16 – BC Bears 34 Ontario Blues 31
August 16 – Atlantic Rock 33 Prairie Wolf Pack 29
August 19 – 3rd Place Match – Prairie Wolf Pack 41 Atlantic Rock 19
August 19 – Championship Game – 9pm ET/6pm PT

Prairie Wolf Pack
1. Hubert Buydens - Saskatoon Wild Oats
2. Casey Reed - Univ of Victoria
3. Ryan Kotlewski - Calgary Saints
4. Conor Turner - Calgary Hornets
5. Riley Fahlman - Regina Campion Grads
6. Lucas Albornoz - Burnaby Lake
7. Kyle Gilmour - St. Albert RFC (captain)
8. Jeremy Kyne - Strathcona Druids
9. Jake Robinson - St. Albert RFC
10. Robbie Povey - Calgary Hornets
11. Evan Thomas - Edmonton Lep/Tigers
12. Adam Bontus - St. Albert RFC
13. Mozac Samson - Calgary Saints
14. Jake Bentley - Calgary Canucks
15. Carl Pocock - Calgary Rams
16. Nick McAuley - Calgary Saints
17. Pete Houlihan - Strathcona Druids
18. Robert Blunden - St. Albert RFC
19. Wayde Hodgen - Calgary Hornets
20. Kyle Morrison - Edmonton Nor’Westers
21. Gradyn Bowd - Red Deer Titans
22. Cam Hall - Strathcona Druids
23. Brandon Baker - Regina Campion Grads    

Col Jeffs - Head Coach        
Gordon McRorie - Assistant Coach        
Tyler Hawes - Assistant Coach
Melissa Petryna     - Therapist
Jim Kazakoff - Manager
Sean Tindall - Assistant Manager
Jo Reinbold - Assistant Manager
Colby Westgard - Therapist

Atlantic Rock
1. Forrest, Alex - PEI Mudmen
2. Lagain, Martial - Ste. Anne de Bellevue
3. Power, Jordon - Dogs RFC
4. Phelan, Jon    
5. Lester, Brad - Dogs RFC
6. Keys, Connor - Ottawa Indians
7. Abdelmonen, Moe - Halifax Tars
8. Hamson. Michael - Halifax Tars
9. Barry, Graham - Halifax Tars
10. Parfrey, Patrick Jr. - Swilers RFC (captain)
11. Coats, Cooper - Halifax Tars
12. Sehic, Emil - Loyalists RFC
13. Debove, Charles - Ste. Anne de Bellevue
14. McNicholas, Patrick– Swilers RFC
15. Johnson, Brett - Truro Saints
16. Parfrey, Owen - Swilers RFC
17. Walsh, Frank - Vandals RFC
18. Chahwan, Jake - Ottawa Irish
19. O'Sullivan, Carson     
20. Carter, Liam - Balmy Beach
21. Paul, Adam – Swilers RFC
22. Alexander, Colin - Balmy Beach
23. McCarthy, Jack - Baymen RFC
Blanks, Simon - Coach
Hanratty, Jack - Coach
Graham, Rick – Hon. Manager
Parfrey, Patrick Sr. - Director of Rugby
Parfrrey, Kevin - Therapist

Canadian Rugby Championship – Past Champions
2016 - Ontario Blues
2015 - Prairie Wolf Pack
2014 - Ontario Blues
2013 - Ontario Blues
2012 - Ontario Blues
2011 - Ontario Blues
2010 - Atlantic Rock
2009 - BC Bears




Design, Hosting, Online Registration & Administration Tools By:Powered By:
Sports Administration & Management, Online Registration, Stores, Professional Websites for Amateur Sports Teams, Leagues, Tournaments & Associations