Main Menu
AUGUST 13, 2017



Rugby Canada Communications

CALGARY – The BC Bears remained undefeated in the Canadian Rugby Championship with a 20-13 win over the Atlantic Rock in Round 2 of the competition at the Calgary Rugby Park.

The Bears took a methodical 20-3 lead midway through the second half and despite a late surge from the Rock, with the Atlantic side scoring twice in the final 10 minutes, BC held on to earn their second win in as many outings.

Neil Courtney and Brock Staller scored first half tries for the Bears, while BC’s Sean Ferguson crossed the line in the second half and Giusseppe DuToit added five points from the boot.

Brett Johnson and Moe Abdelmonen scored late tries for the Rock, with Cooper Coats hitting a penalty early in the first half.

The win sets ups a battle between the only two unbeaten teams in the competition with BC and the Ontario Blues set to play Aug. 16 (7pm ET/4pm PT). The Rock and Prairie Wolf Pack will play in the other Wednesday night contest (9pm ET/6pm PT).

Courtney put the first try on the board less than three minutes into the contest, avoiding tackles near the Rock’s end and dancing in for the opening score.

In the 13th minute, Coates struck a penalty to get the Rock within two points, 5-3, only to have Staller respond with his fourth try of the competition just 10 minutes later.

The Rock pushed back and had a chance in the 29th minute under the sticks, but were whistled for a penalty just inches from the try line.

Just before halftime, DuToit slotted a penalty from just inside the Rock’s half to put BC up 13-3 at the break.  

The second half didn’t see points until the 65th minute, when Ferguson found his way in and, after DuToit converted, put the Bears ahead by 17 points.

The result seemed to be all but in the books until Johnson sparked life into the match with a 72nd minute try. With momentum creeping over to the Rocks side, Abdelmonen then went over to get the Atlantic side within one score. However, despite the last gasp surge, that was as close as the Rock would get. The late rally did help the Atlantic Rock earn a single bonus point for losing by seven or fewer points.

With just three tries in the contest, BC was withheld from the four-try bonus point and thus will enter Round 3 one point behind Ontario, who earned all five points from its first two outings.

This year’s CRC format sees each team face each other once, with the two best teams in the standings playing in the MacTier Cup championship game Aug. 19. The other two teams will battle for third place on the same day.

Canadian Rugby Championship Schedule
July 14 – BC Bears 43 Prairie Wolf Pack 0
July 22 – Ontario Blues 24 Atlantic Rock 17
August 13 – Ontario Blues 45 Prairie Wolf Pack 22
August 13 – BC Bears 20 Atlantic Rock 13
August 16 – BC Bears vs. Ontario Blues – 7pm ET/4pm PT
August 16 – Atlantic Rock vs. Prairie Wolf Pack – 9pm ET/6pm PT
August 19 – 3rd Place Match –  7pm ET/4pm PT
August 19 – Championship Game –  9pm ET/6pm PT

Canadian Rugby Championship – Past Champions
2016 - Ontario Blues
2015 - Prairie Wolf Pack
2014 - Ontario Blues
2013 - Ontario Blues
2012 - Ontario Blues
2011 - Ontario Blues
2010 - Atlantic Rock
2009 - BC Bears

Canadian Rugby Championship – Rosters
Atlantic Rock

1. Forrest, Alex - PEI Mudmen
2. Lagain, Martial - Ste. Anne de Bellevue
3. Power, Jordon - Dogs RFC
4. Phelan, Jon    
5. Lester. Brad - Dogs RFC
6. Keys, Connor - Ottawa Indians
7. Carter, Liam - Balmy Beach
8. Hamson. Michael - Halifax Tars
9. Pomroy, Tony - Baymen RFC
10. Parfrey, Patrick Jr. - Swilers RFC
11. McCarthy, Jack - Baymen RFC
12. Sehic, Emil - Loyalists RFC
13. Debove, Charles - Ste. Anne de Bellevue
14. Johnson, Brett - Truro Saints
15. Coats, Cooper - Halifax Tars
16. Parfrey, Owen - Swilers RFC
17. Walsh, Frank - Vandals RFC
18. Chahwan, Jake - Ottawa Irish
19. Hotton, Lucas - Town of Mt. Royal
20. Abdelmonen, Moe - Halifax Tars
21. Barry, Graham - Halifax Tars
22. Alexander, Colin - Balmy Beach
23. Lantos, Daniel - Swilers RFC
Blanks, Simon - Coach
Hanratty, Jack - Coach
Graham, Rick – Hon. Manager
Parfrey, Patrick Sr. - Director of Rugby
Parfrrey, Kevin - Therapist

BC Bears
1. Anthony Luca - Pitt Meadows, BC, Burnaby Lake RFC
2. Andrew Lackner - Pitt Meadows, BC, Burnaby Lake RFC
3. Neil Courtney - Vancouver, BC, UBC Thunderbirds RFC
4. Cam Polson - Victoria, BC, Castaway Wanderers RFC
5. Connor Weyell - Vancouver, BC, UBC Thunderbirds RFC
6. Luke Campbell - Victoria, BC, James Bay AA
7. Jordan Reid-Harvey - Vancouver, BC, Capilano RFC
8. Dustin Dubrovsky - Victoria, BC, Castaway Wanderers RFC
9. Phil Mack - Victoria, BC, James Bay AA
10. Harjun Gill - Vancouver, BC, UBCOB Ravens RFC
11. Karsten Leitner - Vancouver, BC, UBC Thunderbirds RFC
12. Giusseppe DuToit - Victoria, BC, UVIC Vikes RFC
13. Mike Nieuwenhuysen - Victoria, BC, James Bay AA
14. Brock Staller - Vancouver, BC, UBC Thunderbirds RFC
15. Aaron McLelland - Vancouver, BC, UBCOB Ravens RFC
16. Noah Baker - Victoria, BC, James Bay AA
17. Paul Ahn - Vancouver, BC, UBC Thunderbirds RFC
18. Blake Van Heningen - Victoria, BC, James Bay AA
19. Tua Va'a - Victoria, BC, Westshore RFC
20. Shea Wakefield - Victoria, BC, James Bay AA
21. Sean Ferguson – Vancouver, BC, UBCOB Ravens RFC
22. Gavin Rowell - Abbotsford, BC, UVIC Vikes RFC
23. Doug Fraser - Victoria, BC, Castaway Wanderers RFC

Tony Healy - Head Coach
Phil Mack - Assistant Coach
Des Lynch - Manager/Mental Skills Coach




Design, Hosting, Online Registration & Administration Tools By:Powered By:
Sports Administration & Management, Online Registration, Stores, Professional Websites for Amateur Sports Teams, Leagues, Tournaments & Associations